Monique Muro

Don’t Know Much About History

In Uncategorized on March 28, 2010 at 12:43 am

I’m reading a dry, mildly stimulating  book entitled “Don’t Know Much About History”, which always brings to mind that annoying “Wonderful World” song by Sam Cooke, and I feel a little silly reading it. Especially since the title itself is broadcasting to anyone who stumbles upon you reading it that you’re a stup. I’m wishing badly that I didn’t have the pet peeve of starting books and seeing them through no matter what, because that’s the reason I’m not putting it down for “The Road” by Cormac McCarthy, which as been taunting me on my desk for about a month now.

Although, I have gotten some praise for the history book. I got my hair done the other day and while my brains were frying under the dryer in a head wrapped up in foil, I pulled it out and the hair dresser thought I was smart. “Look at you reading that history book. Is it for a class?” No, actually. I’m just dumb and doing something about it. And I have to admit, dry as it is, I’m learning a lot, and I could probably hold a small conversation about it, if asked. It’s funny how we remember things. Like, everything I’ve read about so far is like a little short film in my head. The Civil War? A mini Gone with the Wind chapter in my head. American Revolution? Lots of blue guys running around on horseback with guns and white hair. I’m just saying, that’s how it sticks.

I started out this year vowing that I’d read at least a book a week. It worked out for the first four or five weeks, but then I read this mind stuffer and I’m only on page three hundred and somthing and it’s been a month. Maybe a month and a half. I’m craving the fiction bad. But I can’t move on until I’ve finished it, I won’t budge. I made a committment and I’m sticking to it. Right now I’m on the WWI section, and it’s getting a lot more interesting. The man is a good writer too, his name is Kenneth C. Davis. The back cover of the book has a little review that says his storytelling resembles the best history teacher you ever had. And while it’s good and not too confusing, that’s a bit of a stretch. On the one hand, I’ve never really had a good history teacher, and on the other, sometimes he’ll say things without explaining them. You’re writing a book for people who don’t know about history right? Explain!

Anyway, you can see the books I’ve read and my progress on this one in my goodreads account. I’m thinking of reading Infinite Jest next. But that’ll take me a year at the rate of I’ve been going. I’m working two jobs now, so by the end of the day around 10:30pm, I just want my wine and a good movie. I read a little the other night after work and got through a whole paragraph before falling asleep, so that’s out of the question. I just can’t wait to get a steady, 9 to 5 job and bum around on the weekends, reading and writing and memorizing the dictionary.

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. That’s interesting. I used to have a good History Teacher. It was a fun class. I might read that book next…

Leave a Reply

